Release Round Up – November 3rd 2023

Release Round Up

Release Round Up - November 3rd, 2023

Every Friday there is a tidal wave of new music released unto the world. Whilst we try to cover as much as possible here at The Razor's Edge, it's not always possible to review everything. So each week on a Friday we'll round up some of the best new music available, some we've reviewed, some we haven't, but all worth checking out!

Theres a lot of new heavy music hitting the airwaves this week, everything from black metal, death metal, gothic metal, Stoner rock, doom, thrash metal and even some of your traditional heavy metal!

Here's what we think you should check out today!

Green Lung's music weaves doom-laden, mystical atmospheres on new album 'This Heathen land' released this week on Nuclear Blast.

"a folk horror atmosphere with real swagger"

Read our full review here.

Suffocation drop the brutal beast that is 'Hymns From The Apocrypha' via Nuclear Blast.

"the best post reunion Suffocation record"

Read our full review here.

Aeonian Sorrow throw their hat into the death/doom ring with 'Katara'.

"The crushing doom-laden guitar riffs are equally offset against atmospheric keys"

Read our full review here.

Melding extreme metal styles Xoth release Exogalactic this week.

"a storming release that absolutely succeeds on all fronts"

Read our full review here.

Fuming Mouth spew crust-laden seething death metal on 'Last Day of Sun' released via Nuclear Blast.

"a sweeping display of modern death metal"

Read our full review here

Manipulator release a cacophonous barrage of mystifying sounds on 'Drawing Secret Circles'.

"a cacophonous barrage of mystifying sounds and words"

Read our full review here.

Forty years on, Motörhead celebrate 'Another Perfect Day' 40th anniversary.

"Unfairly maligned, Another Perfect Day is ripe for a reappraisal, so if you’ve shunned it since ’83, give it another go, you’ll be glad you did."

Read our full review here.

The latest Oi! Ain't Dead compilation focus on the Dutch scene. 'Oi! Ain't Dead 8 - Chaos In Nederland' is released on Rebellion Records this week.

"the soundtrack for a generation of disaffected youths."

Read our full review here.

Preston’s Evil Blizzard return with their first new studio record since 2018. 'Rotting In The Belly Of The Whale' is released this week.

"an ambitions and demanding album while also being accessible"

Read our full review here.

American rockers Dirty Honey are back with 'Can't Find The Brakes' this week.

"a fresh and modern feel, while paying homage to the band’s influences."

Read our full review here.

Hermano, featuring stone rrock legend John Garcia, release a remastered version of '...Only A Suggestion' on Ripple Music.

"the result is just brilliant."

Read our full review here.

Riding the slam train; NecroticGoreBeast release 'Repugnant' on Comatose Music.

"Another monster record full of killer grooves and nasty, savage guttural vocals."

Read our full review here.

Belgian extreme metallers Carnation release 'Cursed Mortality' via Season of Mist.

"Cursed Mortality is going to ruffle some feathers in the band’s established, and frenzied, fanbase."

Read our full review here.

English death/sludge outfit Warcrab release 'The Howling Silence' via Transcending Obscurity Records.

"the crushing, enveloping soundscape is one that easily holds you in place for the full duration of this album."

Read our full review here.

Internationally acclaimed composer and virtuoso cellist Jo Quail returns with her latest double album 'Invocation Supplication'.

"a wonderfully woven mix of elements"

Read our full review here.

And thats just the tip of the iceberg! Other releases today we think you should check out include...

Rock / Hard Rock / Classic Rock

Doctor, Doctor - Second Opinion [EP] (Self-released)
Gypsy Pistoleros - Duende A Go Go Loco! (Earache Records)
Hotline TNT - Cartwheel (Third Man Records)
Mark Solotroff - Today The Infinite, Tomorrow Zero (Self-released)
Sadness & Complete Disappointment - GBH [EP] (Self-released)
Seventh Crystal - Infinity [EP] (Frontiers Music)
Sleep Outside - Lakes In Which To Drown In [EP] (Best Life Records)
Svartanatt - Last Days On Earth (The Sign Records)
The Wreckery - Fake Is Forever (Golden Robot Records)

Heavy Metal

Angra - Cycles of Pain (Atomic Fire Records)
Bad Wolves - Die About It (Better Noise Music)
Dawnwalker - Human Ruins [REISSUE] (Room 312)
Deully - This Is It (WormholeDeath Records)
Hawxx - Earth, Spit, Blood and Bones (Self-released)
Helms Deep - Treacherous Ways (Nameless Grave Records)
Massive Scar Era - Metal Goes Egyptian (Self-released)
Satan's Fall - Destination Destruction (Steamhammer / SPV)
Serenity - Nemesis AD (Napalm Records)
Wounded Cross - Monument of Bones [SINGLE] (Self-released)

Black Metal

Amalekim - Avodah Zarah (Avantgarde Music)
Axioma - Primal Descent [EP] (stained Glass Torments)
Cirkeln - The Primitive Covenant (True Cult Records)
Faidra - Militant : Penitent : Triumphant (Northern Silence Productions)
ILD - Kvern (Vendetta Records)
Jord - Tundra (Hammerheart Records)
Nahasheol - Serpens Abyssi (Argento Records)
Of The Muses - Senhal (My Kingdom Music)
Rosa Faenskap - Jeg Blir Til Deg (Fysisk Format Records)
Sea Mosquito - Igitur (Onism Productions)
Totenmess - Fiktionlust (Pagan Records)
Watain - Die In Fire - Live in Hell (Nuclear Blast)
Zornheym - The Forgotten Inmates (Noble Demon)

Death Metal / Death-Doom / Grindcore

Carnal Tomb - Embalmed in Decay (Testimony Records)
Ch'ahom - Knots of Abhorrence (Sentient Ruin)
Closet Witch - Chiaroscuro (Moment Of Collapse Records)
Insomnium - Songs of the Dusk [EP] (Century Media)
Morthymer - Pedagog (Self-released)
Mortuary Drape - Black Mirror (Peaceville Records)
Strigoi - Bathed in A Black Sun (Season of Mist)

Doom / Stoner Rock / Sludge / Psych

Ananda Mida - Reconciler (Go Down Records)
Asteroid Witch / Greenseeker - Split (Electric Valley Records)
Blazoner - Escape to Electric Land (Self-released)
Cavalcade - Evergreens (Self-released)
Gong - Unending Ascending (KScope)
Gozer - The Path Always Leads To The End [EP] (Trepanantion Recordings)
Infinity Ritual - II (Self-released)
Meridian Sun - The Curse (Drowning Sea God Records)
Morne - Engraved with Pain (Metal Blade Records)
My Octopus Mind - Trying To Be Normal (Drongo Records)
Sarlic Bliss - Braegn Haeft (MDD Records)
Yawning Balch - Volume Two (Heavy Psych Sounds)


Dying Wish - Symptoms of Survival (Sharptone Records)
Escape From Wonderland - Pieces (Drakkar Entertainment)
Killsorrow - Wasteland Chronicles (Self-released)
Mugshot - Cold Will [EP] (Pure Noise Records)
Silent Planet - Superbloom (Solid State)
Spiritbox - The Fear of Fear [EP] (Rise Records)

And the rest...

Acid Force - World Targets In Megadeaths (Jawbreaker Records) [Thrash Metal]
Black Water County - The Only Life Worth Living (Self-released) [Folk/Punk[
Briqueville - IIII (Pelagic Records) [Post-Metal]
Bunsen - Burner (Kaos Kontrol) [Industrial]
Graven Image - Gods Who Decree [EP] (The Coming Strife / Death Farm Records) [Hardcore]
Kontrust - Madworld (Napalm Records) [Nu-Metal/Folk Metal]
Youth Fountain - Together in Lonesome (Pure Noise Records) [Emo/Pop-Punk]

For all the latest news, reviews, interviews across the heavy metal spectrum follow THE RAZORS'S EDGE on facebook, twitter and instagram.