Release Round Up – June 9th 2023

Release Round Up

Release Round Up - June 9th, 2023

Every Friday there is a tidal wave of new music released unto the world. Whilst we try to cover as much as possible here at The Razor's Edge, it's not always possible to review everything. So each week on a Friday we'll round up some of the best new music available, some we've reviewed, some we haven't, but all worth checking out!

Theres a lot of new heavy music hitting the airwaves this week, everything from black metal, death metal, gothic metal, Stoner rock, doom, thrash metal and even some of your traditional heavy metal!

Here's what we think you should check out today!

Industrial metal pioneers Godflesh release latest album 'Purge' on Avalanche Records this week.

"Godflesh are truly masters of their craft and again they have crafted a real gem here."

Read our full review here.

Long Island natives Pyrexia celebrate the 25th anniversary of 'System of the Animal' with a special edition release.

"this re-recording is absolutely monstrous"

Read our full review here.

As We Suffer release 'The Fallen Pillars' via WormholeDeath Records.

"an album that’s the bastard son of Killswitch Engage and Trivium"

Read our full review here.

US death metallers Torture Rack release 'Primeval Onslaught' on 20 Buck Spin.

"a monstrous record that will throw you against all the walls it can find."

Read our full review here.

London death/thrash champions The Bleeding unleash 'Monokrator' via Redefining Darkness.

"an utterly sublime album that fires on all fronts"

Read our full review here.

Alex Lifeson as his post-Rush project Envy of None release EP 'That Was Then, This Is Now' via KScope.

"not a full-on prog-fest, the traditional rock feel competes with the ongoing showcase of the band’s not-inconsiderable collected talents."

Read our full review here.

And thats just the tip of the iceberg! Other releases today we think you should check out include...

Rock / Hard Rock / Classic Rock

Art Nation - Inception (Frontiers Music SRL)
Dead Quiet - IV (Artoffact Records)
Extreme - Six (earMUSIC)
Gallus - We Don't Like The People We've Become (Marshall Records)
Gardner James - No Strings (Frontiers Music SRL)
Hammock - Now I Know (Renoir Records)
Human Growth - Lube Factory (Self-released)
Renovations - Blank (Self-released)
Shakra - invincible (AFM Records)
The Defiants - Drive (Frontiers Music SRL)
Y&T - Yesterday and Today Live (Expanded Edition) (Metal Blade Records)

Heavy Metal

False Memories - Hybrid Ego System (Frontiers Music SRL)
Max Enix - Far From Home (WormholeDeath Records)
Ratt - The Atlantic Years [BOXSET] (BMG)

Black Metal

Aodon - Portraits (Willowtip Records)
Johnny The Boy - You (Season of Mist)
Vreid - Flammen (Indie Recordings)

Death Metal / Death-Doom / Grindcore

All Life Ends - Miscreation (Black Sunset / MDD)
Avarice - Avarice (UPRISING! Records)
Burial Hordes - Ruins (Transcending Obscurity Records)
Carry the Torch - Delusion (Black Lion Records)
Claustrum - Claustrum (Unorthodox Emanations)
Come, Sweet Death - Imperishable (Hammerheart Records)
Exnun - Nutshell Studies Of Unexplained Death (Time To Kill Records)
Glass Casket - Glass Casket [EP] (Silent Pendulum Records)
Imperishable - Come, Sweet Home (Hammerheart Records)
Jesus Chrüsler Supercar - Rising (Majestic Mountain Records)
Kaksonen - Universumin Kuningas (Inverse Records)
Rise to Fall - The Fifth Dimension (Noble Demon)
Scar Symmetry - The Singularity Phase II - Xenotaph (Nuclear Blast)
The Arcane Order - Distortions from Cosmogony (Black Lion Records)
The Biscuit Merchant - Phobia (Self-released)
Voidhaven - Lithic (Ardua Music)
Vortex - The Future Remains In Oblivion (Self-released)

Doom / Stoner Rock / Sludge / Psych

Black Rainbows - Superskull (Heavy Psych Sounds)
King Howl - Homecoming (Electric Valley Records)
Rainbows Are Free - Heaby Petal Music (Ripple Music)


Dayshifter - Hiraeth (Self-released)
Demsfightinwords - Vexation (Total Deathcore)
Geld - Currency // Castration (Relapse Records)
SPLIT//BITE - 404 ends (Loyal Blood Records)
The Soiled Doves - Revenant Spirit (Harlot Records)

Progressive Rock / Metal

A Day in Venice - IV: Sacrament (Self-released)
Agora - Empire (Crusader Records)
Grant The Sun - Voyage (Mas-Kina Recordings)
NadNavillus - Forgotten Portraits (Self-released)
Ray Adler - II (Inside Out Music)
Stellar Circuits - Sight To Sound (Nuclear Blast)

Thrash Metal

I, Destroyer - Cold, Dead Hands (Eternal Death)
Legion of the Damned - The Poison Chalice (Napalm Records)

And the rest...

Evidence of a Struggle - Evidence of a Struggle [Post-Rock]
F/E/A - Anti (Sliptrick Records) [Post-Rock]
Gridfailure / Interstitia - Sunyata Ontology (Pax Aeternum) [Ambient/Instrumental/Apocalyptic]
No Lights - Dream Eraser (The Ghost is Clear Records) [Post-Punk]
Robby Bloodshed / Voice of Doom - Robby Bloodshed vs. Voice of Doom (We Are Horror Records) [Punk]

For all the latest news, reviews, interviews across the heavy metal spectrum follow THE RAZORS'S EDGE on facebook, twitter and instagram.