Release Round Up – August 19th 2022

Release Round Up

Release Round Up - August 12th, 2022 

Every Friday there is a tidal wave of new music released unto the world. Whilst we try to cover as much as possible here at The Razor's Edge, it's not always possible to review everything. So each week on a Friday we'll round up some of the best new music available, some we've reviewed, some we haven't, but all worth checking out!

Theres a lot of new heavy music hitting the airwaves this week, everything from black metal, death metal, gothic metal, Stoner rock, doom, thrash metal and even some of your traditional heavy fuckin' metal!

Here's what we think you should check out today!

Swedish melodic death metal legends Soilwork release album number twelve, 'Övergivenheten', via Nuclear Blast this week.

"‘Övergivenheten’ is front loaded with potential classics."

Read our review here.

British doom masters Conan return with 'Evidence of Immortality' on Napalm Records.

"possesses all the tone and crushing weight the band have become renowned for."

Read our full review here.

Comatose Music bring together Kill Everything, NecroticGoreBeast, Virulent Excision and Gorepot on brutal split album 'Acts of Sadistic Cruelty'.

"it’s full of all the relentless brutality that fans will thoroughly enjoy."

Read our full review here.

Amidst Dreams Of Tomorrow release debut album 'Memories of a Wandering Soul'

"mournful and melancholic melody running through it mixed with black metal ferocity and pummelling drums."

Read our full review here

Italian Death/Doom outfit Ferum release 'Asunder / Erode' this week.

"'Asunder/Erode' is reminiscent of the decaying human form in sonic medium."

Read out full review here.

Five Finger Death Punch are back with 'AfterLife' on Better Noise Music.

"There is nothing offensive about this album, yet it maintains the bands lack of originality and contains nothing that hasn’t been done before."

Read our full review here.

Holding Absence and Alpha Wolf team up on Split EP 'The Lost & The Longing' via Sharptone Records.

"Holding Absence is the sort of new partner you’d take home to meet your mum; Alpha Wolf – not so much, but hang on for a wild ride."

Read our full review here.

And thats just the tip of the iceberg! Other releases today we think you should check out include...

Rock / Hard Rock / Classic Rock

Airi's - Kind Little One (Self-released)
Aniimalia - Pressure Points (Marshall Records)
Chloe Trujillo & Rav Medic - Heavy Peace [EP] (Golden Robot Records)
David Paich (TOTO) - Forgotten Toys (The Players Club/Mascot Label Group)
Dead City Ruins - Shockwave (AFM Records)
I Prevail - True Power (Fearless Records)
Joe Appleford - Dystopian Dreams, Utopian Nightmares (Self-released)
Joe Appleford - Distopian Dreams, Utopian Nightmares (Self-released)
Lillian Axe - From Womb To Tomb (Global Rock Records)
Pistols At Dawn - Ascension (JFL Entertainment)
Psychlona - Palo Verde (Psycho Waxx)
SiX By SiX - SiX By SiX (Inside Out Music)
Skypilot - Simple Beast (The Distortion Project)
Slyder Smith & The Oblivion Kids - Charm Offensive (Ray Records / Cargo Records)
Spielbergs - Vestli (Big Scary Monsters)
Stockhausen & The Amplified Riot - Era of the Inauthentic (Self-released)
Thundermother - Black and Gold (AFM Records)
Vendetta Love - I Am [EP] (Self-released)

Heavy Metal

Buried Under Sky - Darkest Corners (Self-released)
Dawnwalker - House of Sand (Room 312)
Phantom Spell - Immortal's Requiem (Wizard Tower Records)
Splintered Throne - The Greater Good of Man (Self-released)
Tyrants of Chaos - Relentless Thirst for Power (Self-released)

Death Metal

Beyond Your Design - United We fall [SINGLE] (Self-released)
Deus ex Machina - III (Self-released)
Elliott’s Keep - Vulnerant Omnes (Self-released)
Ósserp - Els Nous Cants De La Sibil·la (Eternal Juggernaut Records)
Roots of the Old Oak - Blot (Hammerheart Records)
The Sombre - Monuments of Grief (Chaos Records)

Black Metal

Nocturnal Sorcery - The Holy Law in Total Ruin (KVLT)
Svartsyn - Bloodline [REISSUE] (Nomad Snakepit Productions)
Svartsyn - ...His Majesty [REISSUE] (Nomad Snakepit Productions)
Thanatomass - MMXV-MMXVI [REISSUE] (Nomad Snakepit Productions)
Thanatomass - Darkest Conjurations [REISSSUE] (Nomad Snakepit Productions)
träumen von aurora - Luna & Aurora (Trollzorn)
Vel'Har - Letania I (Sentient Ruin)
White Rune - Dawn of the White Rune (Hammer of Hate)

Stoner Rock / Doom / Sludge / Psych

All Souls / Fatso Jetson - Live From Total Annihilation [SPLIT ALBUM] (Ripple Music)
Blacklab - In A Bizarre Dream (New Heavy Sounds)
Lucifer's Fall / Eldritch Rites - Graveyard Rites [SPLIT ALBUM] (Self-released)
Mammoth Volume - The Cursed Who Perform the Larvagod Rites (Blues Funeral Recordings)
Morbid Evils - Suernaturals (Transcending Obscurity Records)
Motorpsycho - Ancient Astronauts (Stickman Records)
Solemn Lament - Solemn Lament [EP] (Svart Records)
Spirit Adrift - 20 Centuries Gone (Century Media)

And the rest...

Abest - Molten Husk (Moment of Collaspe Records) [Post-Metal]
Concrete Ties - Unrecognizable (Self-released) [Hardcore]
Dez Dare - Ulysses Trash (Self-released) [Punk]
Flame Imperishable - Glory and Ruin (Self-released) [Power Metal]
Hammer King - Kingdemonium (Napalm Records) [Power Metal]
Heilung - Drif (Season of Mist) [Folk Metal]
Orthodox - Learning to Dissolve (Century Media) [Hardcore/Nu-Metal]
Russian Circles - Gnosis (Sargent House) [Post-Metal]
Spite - Dedication To Flesh (Rise Records) [Deathcore]
The Occult - The Occult (Self-released) [Punk]
VLMV - Sing With Abandon (Self-released) [Post-Rock]

For all the latest news, reviews, interviews across the heavy metal spectrum follow THE RAZORS'S EDGE on facebook, twitter and instagram.