Release Round Up – February 17th 2023

Release Round Up

Release Round Up - February 17th, 2023

Every Friday there is a tidal wave of new music released unto the world. Whilst we try to cover as much as possible here at The Razor's Edge, it's not always possible to review everything. So each week on a Friday we'll round up some of the best new music available, some we've reviewed, some we haven't, but all worth checking out!

Theres a lot of new heavy music hitting the airwaves this week, everything from black metal, death metal, gothic metal, Stoner rock, doom, thrash metal and even some of your traditional heavy fuckin' metal!

Here's what we think you should check out today!

Code Orange return with an unannounced fifth studio album 'What Is Really Underneath?'.

"it is a cinematic score, filled with effects, sounds and dimensions you would not expect. It takes the listener on a journey, it mesmerises and once more propels the band to the next rung on that ladder to the top."

Read our full review here.

The kings of Wales return, Those Damn Crows release 'Inhale/Exhale' this week via Earache Records.

"passion filled, rock fury"

Read our full review here.

Avatar return with latest opus 'Dance Devil Dance' this week.

"With their usual melodic death metal like riffs and catchy chorus’ they have you hooked from opening title track Dance Devil Dance."

Read our full review here.

Finnish death metal outfit Tramalizer release 'Fumes Of Funeral Pyres' this week on Soulseller Records.

"a true and honest piece of old school death metal and it sounds fresh which is ever so important when looking to produce that classic old school sound."

Read our full review here.

Swedish blackened thrashers Last Legion deliver debut album 'Metall, Blod & Aska' via Grind to Death Records.

"Combined with the gnarly vocals are an undeniable thrash edge that incorporates an unholy alliance between death metal and the visceral thrash."

Read our full review here.

Winds of Tragedy unleash darkness and despair on new album 'Hating Life'.

"a relentless and howling barrage of aggressive black metal that is likely to remove flesh from bone."

Read our full review here

Scottish thrasher Hellripper releases 'Warlocks Grim & Withered Hags' via Peaceville Records.

"full of his trademark high speed metal and blistering solos, but inspired by the scenery and landscape around him"

Read our full review here.

US death metal outfit Street Tombs release 'Reclusive Decay' via Carbonized Records.

"copious swathes of impact and crushing, crunching tone"

Read our full review here.

Isle of White punk trio Grade 2 release their self-titled album on Hellcat Records.

"The old school Punk approach is apparent, all built on the foundations of hook-laden riffs and singalong lyrics. "

Read our full review here.

The notorious Motley Crüe release new boxset 'Crücial Crüe' via BMG this week.

"remind yourself why Mötley Crüe were one of the seminal bands of their era."

Read our full review here.

Old school death metal supergroup Siege of Power (featuring members of Autopsy and Asphyx) unleash 'This Is Tomorrow' via Metal Blade Records.

"Siege Of Power isn’t some vanity project; rather it’s a passionate and realised effort to just get together and see what music gets created."

Read our full review here.

US blackened death metal outfit Ulthar release two albums this week on 20 Buck Spin. 'Anthronomicon' and 'Helionomicon.

"True lovecraftian horror wrought in blackened death metal. Fantastic."

Read our full review here.

Deicide release the third boxset in their back catalogue series 'Bible Bashers' via Cherry Red Records.

"an excellent package, although I can’t say that it is as essential as the others in this Roadrunner collection series"

Read our full review here.

And thats just the tip of the iceberg! Other releases today we think you should check out include...

Rock / Hard Rock / Classic Rock

All My Shadows - Eerie Monsters (Frontiers Music S.R.L.)
Creye - III Weightless (Frontiers Music S.R.L.)
Despite The Wane - Beyond The Wall (Epitronic Records)
First Signal - Face Your Fears (Frontiers Music S.R.L.)
Grandma's Ashes - This Too Shall Pass (Nice Prod)
Robin McAuley - Alive (Frontiers Music S.R.L.)

Heavy Metal

Bridear - Aegis of London... Live! (Setsuzoku Records)
Graphic Nature - A Mind Waiting To Die (Rude Records)
Hollentor - Divergency (Self-released)
Oceanhaorse - Heads Will Roll (Noble Demon)

Black Metal

Enisum - Forgotten Mountains (Avantegarde Music)
Tryglav - The Ritual (Extreme Metal Music)
Tulus - Fandens Call (Soulseller Records)

Death Metal

Akilla - Serpent & the Son [SINGLE] (Self-released)
Child - Meditations In Filth (EAT Heavy Records)
Dead Soul Alliance - Spiralling To Lunacy (Cryptorium)
DespiseD - Scorched Earth (Kvlt und Kaos Productions)
Keonheim - Journey to Divinity (Self-released)
Misanthropik Torment - Ecdysis (Misanthropik Records / Kvlt und Kaos Productions)
Mordkaul - Feedin The Machine - Part 1 (Self-released)
Sarpa - Mauta Tala [EP] (Self-released)
Scars of Oblivion - Misanthropy (Self-released)
See You Next Tuesday - Distractions (Self-released)
Sepolcral - Scourge (Time To Kill Records)
Spectral Souls - Towards Extinction (Hammerheart Records)
Tithe - Inverse Rapture (Profound Lore Records)

Doom / Stoner Rock / Sludge / Psych

Aglo - Into The Maze (Gutter Prince Cabal)
Hail The Void - Memento Mori (Ripple Music)
Jack Harlon & The Dead Crows - Hail to the Underground (Blues Funeral Recordings)
Pelegrin - Ways of Avicenna (Self-released)
The Abbey
- Word of Sin (Season of Mist)
Thod - Asklepois (WormholeDeath Records)


Age of Ruin - Thieves (Calm Bomb Collective)
Canine - I.U.T.B.F. [SINGLE] (Self-released)

Progressive Rock / Metal

Dusk - Spectrums (Self-released)
Koenjihyakkei - Nivraym Revisited (SKiN GRAFT Records)
Owl - Geomancy (Lummox Records)
The Flying Caravan - I Just Wanna Break Even (WormholeDeath Records)
Transatlantic - The Final Flight: Live At L'Olympia (Inside Out Music)

Thrash Metal

Anachron - Captives of the Past [SINGLE] (Self-released)
Enbor Arnasa - Enbor Arnasa (Sliptrick Records)
Gravehuffer - ...Depart From So Much Evil (Black Doomba Records)
Sifting - Nemesis [SINGLE] (Eclipse Records)

And the rest...

An Evening With Knives - FNR Sessions (Argonauta Records) [Post-Metal]
Martiria - Timeless (Screamloud Records) [Power Metal]
Super Pink Moon - Iron Rain (Self-released) [Post-Rock]

For all the latest news, reviews, interviews across the heavy metal spectrum follow THE RAZORS'S EDGE on facebook, twitter and instagram.