Release Round Up – September 22nd 2023

Release Round Up

Release Round Up - September 22nd, 2023

Every Friday there is a tidal wave of new music released unto the world. Whilst we try to cover as much as possible here at The Razor's Edge, it's not always possible to review everything. So each week on a Friday we'll round up some of the best new music available, some we've reviewed, some we haven't, but all worth checking out!

Theres a lot of new heavy music hitting the airwaves this week, everything from black metal, death metal, gothic metal, Stoner rock, doom, thrash metal and even some of your traditional heavy metal!

Here's what we think you should check out today!

A chance to look back at the late, great Ronnie James Dio this week with the new boxset 'The Studio Albums: 1996-2004' released via BMG.

"there are flashes across the collection to remind us of the genius at work."

Read our full review here.

Freya, featuring members of Earth Crisis, drop 'Fight As One' on Upstate Records.

"eleven tracks of dark hardcore which crosses the line into a more furious thrash sound without losing it’s hardcore ethos and vibe."

Read our full review here.

Cruel Force drop their blackened thrash opus 'Dawn of the Axe'on Shadow Kingdom.

"Cruel Force are back on form and ready to share with us yet more blackened goodness."

Read our full review here.

Death metal royalty Cannibal Corpse release album number sixteen 'Chaos Horrific' via Metal Blade Records.

"their consistency is one of the band's greatest achievements"

Read our full review here.

Californian industrialists 3Teeth release 'EndEx' on Century Media Records.

"drags you into a place you would not venture alone."

Read our full review here.

Canadian alternative Noise Rock act KEN Mode release 'Void' on Artoffact Records.

"Jangling chords combine with thick, crushing lines, supplemented at bass level and sets Void up nicely."

Read our full review here.

Paul Rodgers releases his first solo album in 24 years in ‘Midnight Rose’.

a fantastic, upbeat, happy and positive record.

Read our full review here.

Brazilian thrashers Torture Sqaud unleash 'Devilish' via Time To Kill Records.

"if you get hit by one of these riffs you’re going to need treatment for concussion"

Read our full review here.

British metallers Imperium drop a bombshell of an EP in ‘When Kings Meet’.

”The title track smashes in with a straight up thrash intro with tight guitars that set the tone for the next twenty minutes of your life.“

Read our full review here.

And thats just the tip of the iceberg! Other releases today we think you should check out include...

Rock / Hard Rock / Classic Rock

Brian Durbin - Only Jams (BKD Worldwide)
King Herd - King Herd (Self-released)
North Atlas - The Longest Shadow Attached To The Ankle [EP] (Self-released)
Paul Rogers - Midnight Rose (Sun Records)
Staind - Confessions of the Fallen (BMG)
Starbenders - Take Back The Night (Sumerian Records)
Teenage Sequence - Teenage Sequence (Everything Sucks Music)

Heavy Metal

Bad As - Fight The Demons (WormholeDeath Records)
Bonfire - MMXXIII [RE-RECORDED] (AFM Records)
Conspiracy of Blackness - Pain Therapy (WormholeDeath Records)
Death Dealer Union - Initiation (Napalm Records)
Dio - The Studio Albums: 1996-2004 [BOXSET] (BMG)
Kerrigan - Bloodmoon (High Roller Records)
Mythologik - Mythologik [EP] (Self-released)
Nattsvermer - Nattsvermer (Rob Mules Records)
Never Obey Again - The End of an Era (Scarlet Records)
Samurai Pizza Cats - You're Welcome (Easthaven Records)

Black Metal

Deadspace - Unveiling the Palest Truth (Immortal Frost)
Melan Selas - Zephyrean Hymns (The Circle Music)
Noctomb - Noctomb (Self-released)
Profanatica - Crux Simplex (Season of Mist Underground Activists)
Starlit Melancholy - To Wilt Beneath The Stars (Self-released)
Verderbnis - Paria (Black Sunset)

Death Metal / Death-Doom / Grindcore

Acausal Intrusion - Panpsychism (I, Voidhanger Records)
Angel Rising
- Afterlife (WormholeDeath Records)
Anima Hereticae - Descended From The Mountains (Inverse Records)
Apex of Devastation - Apex of Devastation (Self-released)
Cannibal Corpse - Chaos Horrific (Metal Blade Records)
Feral / Crawl - Made As Those Who Are No Longer Alive (Transcending obscurity Records)
Intéremo - (Buried In Rotten Remains (Goregeous Productions)
Mercenary - Soundtrack To The End of Times (NoiseArt Records)
My Lament - The Season Came Undone (ardua Music)
Necrotted - Imperium (Reaper Entertainment)
Ristridi - Dark Solace [EP] (Self-released)
Selfgod - Born of Death [REISSUE] (Vidar Records)
Suffer Yourself - Axis of Tortures (Aesthetic Death)
Torture Squad - Devilish (Time To Kill Records)
Wormhole - Almost Human (Season of Mist)

Doom / Stoner Rock / Sludge / Psych

Dead Feathers - Full Circle (Ripple Music)
Dome La Muerte E.X.P - El Santo (Go Down Records)
Earthblood - Primal Fury (Inverse Records)
Hands of Orlac
- Hebetudo Mentis (Terror From Hell Records)
Haurun - Wilting Within (Small Stone Recordings)
Kal-El - Moon people Majestic Mountain Records)
Magnitudo - Scotoma [EP] (Self-released)
Orbiter - Hollow World (Argonauta Records)
Solar Sons - Another Dimensions (Self-released)
Spook The Beast - Guided By The Second Sun [EP] (Self-released)
The Moth - Frost (Exile on Mainstream)
Wellwater Conspiracy - Declaration Of Conformity [REISSUE] (God Unknown Records)
Yawning Man - Pot Head [EP] (Ripple Music)


Freya - Fight As one (Upstate Records)
Geist - Blueprints To Moderate Sedation (Self-released)
Guilt Trip - Severance (MLVLTD)

Industrial Metal

3Teeth - EndEx (Century Media)
Ash Prison - Future Torn (Sentient Ruin)

Power Metal

Apostolica - Animae Haeretica (Scarlet Records)
By Fire And Sword - Glory (No Remorse Records)
Grymheart - Hellish Heart (Scarlet Records)


Oslo Ess - Oslo Ess (Indie Recordings)
The Holy Ghost - Ignore Alien Orders (Lövely Records)
TV's Daniel - Never Change (Wild Honet Records)
Values Here - Take Your Time, I'll Be Waiting (End Hits)

Speed / Thrash Metal

Acid Mass - Agonizer (Morbid and Miserable Records)
Bulletbelt - Burn It Up (Impaler Records)
Crazy Mad Ride - Life, Liverty, Death (Sliptrick records)
Exorcizphobia - Spiritual Exodus (Doomentia Records)
Imperium - When Kings Meet (Self-released)
Overt Enemy - Official Live Thunder In the Hill Country (Vault 32 Media/Confused Records)
Solipnosis - Sintesis Silenciosa (විරෑපී (VIRŪPI))

And the rest...

Equivocator - Equivocator [EP] (Nefarious Industries) [Post-Hardcore]
Falistra - Di Limpide Tempeste (My Kingdom Music) [Dark Folk]
Haint - Terminally Evolved [EP] (Self-released) [Post-Doom/Grunge]
KEN mode - Void (Artoffact Records) [Noise Rock / Sludge]
Spurv - Brefjære (Pelagic Records) [Post-Rock]
The Mobile Homes - Tristesses (Wild Kingdom) [Melancholic Synthpop]

For all the latest news, reviews, interviews across the heavy metal spectrum follow THE RAZORS'S EDGE on facebook, twitter and instagram.