Release Round Up – September 8th 2023

Release Round Up

Release Round Up - September 8th, 2023

Every Friday there is a tidal wave of new music released unto the world. Whilst we try to cover as much as possible here at The Razor's Edge, it's not always possible to review everything. So each week on a Friday we'll round up some of the best new music available, some we've reviewed, some we haven't, but all worth checking out!

Theres a lot of new heavy music hitting the airwaves this week, everything from black metal, death metal, gothic metal, Stoner rock, doom, thrash metal and even some of your traditional heavy metal!

Here's what we think you should check out today!

Baltimore death metallers Dying Fetus unleash 'Make Them Beg For Death' on Relapse Records.

"an album which is nothing short of menacing"

Read our full review here.

Sylosis look to release album six titled 'A Sign Of Things To Come' on Nuclear Blast Records.

"a thunderous record that grabs your throat firmly then refuses to let go"

Read our full review here.

Quebecois extreme metal stalwarts Cryptopsy release 'As Gomorrah Burns' via Nuclear Blast Records.

"As Gomorrah Burns is their strongest material since None So Vile."

Read our full review here.

Norwegian group Kvelertak are back with album number five 'Endling' released on Rise Records.

"A blend in elements of post-hardcore, metal, and a distinct stoner rock vibe."

Read our full review here.

Nasty bring hardcore to Century Media Records with 'Heartbreak Criminals'.

"violent fury"

Read our full review here.

Belgian stoner rock masters Fire Down Below release 'Low Desert Surf Club' on Ripple Music.

"let the good times roll, and rejoice in the splendour that is Fire Down Below."

Read our full review here.

Canadian thrashers Triskelyon release 'Artificial Insanity' via Moribund Records'.

"a style of thrash is one that attacks us head on and provides all the intensity and bass we’d want"

Read our full review here.

New York hardcore outfit Pain of Truth release 'Not Through Blood' via DAZE.

"a sharp and utterly mean record"

Read our full review here.

Swedish kings of all things heavy Monolord release new EP 'It's All The Same' via Relapse Records.

"gives off almost a hypnotic, folk horror soundtrack vibes"

Read our full review here.

German black metal force Finsterforst release EP 'Jenseits' via AOP Records.

"many lingering twists and turns that inevitably come back in the form of earworms"

Read our full review here.

Hyper-thrashers Terminalist unleash 'The Crisis as Condition' this week.

"a detached and impassioned look at the present, with a fierce analysis of a crisis ridden society."

Read our full review here.

And thats just the tip of the iceberg! Other releases today we think you should check out include...

Rock / Hard Rock / Classic Rock

Conquer Divide - Slow Burn (Mascot Records)
Diplomatic Immunity - No weather, no cry, the desert don’t lie (Self-released)
Fixation - More Subtle Than Death (Indie Recordings)
Hawthorn Heights - Lost Lights [EP] (Pure Noise Records)
OOMPH! - Richter und Henker (Napalm Records)
Spyder Byte - The Taste of Filth [EP] (Self-released)
Starmen - Starmenized (Melodic Passion)
The Glorious Sons - Glory (TGS Music Inc)
Various Artists - Dead Formats Vol. 2 (Pure Noise Records)
Wax Mekanix - Psychotomimetic (Electric Talon Records)
Zand - Sewerstars [EP] (Zand)

Heavy Metal

Allamedah - Alma [EP] (Uprising! Records)
Egokills - Egokills (Mellowhead Creations)
Skull & Crossbones - Sungazer (Massacre Records)
Street Fighter - Second Hand Hero (From The Vaults)
We Are Sovereign - Step Out Your Comfort Zone (Self-released)

Black Metal

Black Pestilence - Chaotic Wisdom (Self-released)
Dantalion - Fatum (Non Serviam Records)
Death Shroud - Parhelion (WormholeDeath Records)
Shūnyatā - The Dark Age (Black Lion Records)
Sielunvihollinen - Helvetinkone (Hammer of Hate)
The Watcher - Kaosaura (Spread Evil)
Valravn - The Awakening (Primitive Reaction)

Death Metal / Death-Doom / Grindcore

Dark Reflection - Everlasting Night (Grind to Death Records)
Excarnated Entity - Mass Grave Horizon (Nuclear Winter)
Gory Blister - Reborn from Hatred (Eclipse Records)
Head Cleaner - The Extreme Sound of Truth (Vinyl Store)
Sodomisery - Mazzaroth (Testimony Records)
We Do Not Belong Here - Strange to Cope in Today's World (Self-released)

Doom / Stoner Rock / Sludge / Psych

Domkraft - Sonic Moons (Magnetic Eye Records)
Ethereal Tomb - When The Rivers Dry (Black Throne Productions)
Overman - It Is All Overman (Sliptrick records)
Slomatics - Strontium Fields (Black Bow Records)
Spillage - Phase Four (Self-released)


Unitytx - Ferality (Pure Noise Records)
With Honor - Boundless (Pure Noise Records)

Prog Rock / Metal

Antipod - Eveil (WormholeDeath Records)
Core Of iO - Part I: iO [EP] (Self-released)
Damnation Plan - The New Horizon (Inverse Records)
Quicksilver Night - Ptichka (Self-released)

Thrash Metal

Bio-Cancer - Revengeance (Hammerheart Records)
Satsuriku Robot - No Thrash Metal, No Life! (WormholeDeath Records)
Terminalist - The Crisis as Condition (Indisciplinarian)

And the rest...

As Friends Rust - Any Joy (End Hits) [Punk/Melodic Hardcore]
Evilon - A Warriors Way (Self-released) [Folk Metal]
Jaded Truth - Bitter [EP] (Self-released) [Grunge]

For all the latest news, reviews, interviews across the heavy metal spectrum follow THE RAZORS'S EDGE on facebook, twitter and instagram.