Release Round Up – March 15th 2024

Release Round Up

Release Round Up - March 15th, 2024

Every Friday there is a tidal wave of new music released unto the world. Whilst we try to cover as much as possible here at The Razor's Edge, it's not always possible to review everything. So each week on a Friday we'll round up some of the best new music available, some we've reviewed, some we haven't, but all worth checking out!

Theres a lot of new heavy music hitting the airwaves this week, everything from black metal, death metal, gothic metal, Stoner rock, doom, thrash metal and even some of your traditional heavy metal!

Here's what we think you should check out today!

Old school thrashers Atrophy release 'Asylum' via Massacre Records.

"their thrash attack is still as retro and ruthless as it’s ever been"

Read our full review here.

Death metal force  Defect Designer unleash 'Chitin' via Transcending Obscurity Records.

"there aren’t many bands who have the balls to attempt such a record"

Read our full review here.

Wounds release a fresh sounding death metal album in 'Ruin' via Everlasting Spew Records.

"Every note sounds solid, from the flashy technical riffing, the tight pounding of the drums and the nice punchy bass sound"

Read our full review here.

International extreme metal supergroup Vltimas return with 'Epic' on Season of Mist.

"a record that mixes brooding darkness with furious violence and aggression."

Read our full review here.

Swedish extreme outfit Necrophobic  unleash 'In The Twilight Grey' via Century Media.

"Necrophobic still perform with a biting malice"

Read our full review here.

NOLA death-grind outfit Brat release debut album 'Social Grace' on Prosthetic Records.

"fuzzed-up guitars, bile-infused vocals and loose-stringed bass work."

Read our full review here.

The brilliantly named Weston Super Maim release 'See You Tomorrow Baby' this week.

"an absolute whirlwind of a record which really is absolutely crazy."

Read our full review here.

Modern punk and hardcore pioneers Comeback Kid release new EP 'Trouble' on Sharptone Records.

"All four songs have plenty of bounce and energy"

Read our full review here.

Progressive metal supergroup Whom Gods Destroy release 'Insanium' on Inside Out Music.

"ambitious, and although ludicrously and unashamedly technical, they still have an emotional grounding."

Read our full review here.

And thats just the tip of the iceberg! Other releases today we think you should check out include...


Cory Wells - Harboring The Hurt I've Caused (Pure Noise Records)
Dead Reynolds - Animal [EP] (Self-released)
Ellis Mano Band - Live: Access All Areas (SPV)
Full Earth - Cloud Sculptors (Stickman Records)
Hellgrimm - Sacrifice (Self-released)
Hope Darling - Ensō (Epitronic Records)
Idiot Robot - Anti Pop Culture (Self-released)
Kid Kapichi - There Goes The Neighbourhood (Spinefarm Records)
Nonexister - Demons (Self-released)
Reaper's Sythe - Shielded. Abandoned. Rearranged. (Self-released)
Scott Stapp - Higher Power (Napalm Records)

Heavy Metal

AntiMozdeBeast - Lake of Fire (Self-released)
Kilter, Andromeda Anarchia, Growlers Choir and SEVEN)SUNS - La Suspendida (Silent Pendulum Records)
Lutharo - Chasing Euphoria (Atomic Fire Records)
Rifforia - Axeorcism (Metalville)
Sol Anahata - Syncretic Sovereignty (Self-released)
Various Artists - Wax Donut Presents: Goat, A Jesus Lizard Tribute (Wax Donut Records)

Black Metal

Compress - The Final Level of Conciousness (Eternal Death)
Nastergal - The Untold War (WormholeDeath Records)
Udåd - Udåd (Peaceville)

Death Metal / Death-Doom / Grindcore

Backstabber - Patterns of Domination [EP] (Self-released)
Blastomycosis - A Feast For The Tasteless (CDN Records)
Daemoniac - Visions of the Nightside (Xtreem Music)
Eternal Autumn - Below The Lightless Heavens (Self-released)
Neid - Still Offensive [EP] (Time To Kill Records)
Ornamentos Del Miedo - El cosmos me observa en silencio (Meuse Music Records/Tragedy Productions)
The Moor - Ombra (Inertia Music)
Three Dead Fingers - 9 Apes (Self-released)
Wasted Death - Season of Evil (APF Records)

Doom / Stoner Rock / Sludge / Psych

Above Aurora - Myriad Woes (War Anthem Records)
Ash Eater - Breathe The Smoke (Self-released)
Bongzilla - Dabbing (LIVE) Rosin In Europe (Heavy Psych Sounds)
Leather Lung - Graveside Grin (Magnetic Eye Records)


Simulakra - Reincarnation [EP] (DAZE)
Sweat - Love Child (vitriol Records)


Dead Icarus - Ad infernum (MNRK)
Park+Riot - Wise Words From Well-Fed Mouths (This Charming Man Records)


Kult Ikon - Black Iron Prison (Self-released)
O Zorn! - Vermillion Haze (Hard Drugs / Seeing Red Records)


Bruno Karnel - Hic Sunt Dracones (Bitume Productions)
Helsinki Horizon - Sirens (Luminol Records)

Power Metal

Anahata - Syncretic Sovereignty (Self-released)
Coventhrall - Legacy of Morfuidra (Inverse Records)
Dragonforce - Warp Speed Warriors (Napalm Records)

Progressive Rock / Metal

Crystal Horizon - Crystal Horizon [EP] (Self-released)
Iterum Nata - From The Infinite Light (Nordvis Produktion)
Ophen Ahrms - Lying Beside You (Self-released)
Per Wiberg - The Serpent's Here (Despotz Records)
The Progressive Souls Collective - Sonic Rebirth (Metalville)
Transport Aerian - Live in Ghent (Melodic Revolution Records)

Thrash Metal

Alpha Warhead - Code Red (Firecum Records)
Miehala - Sons of Alaheim [EP] (Inverse Records)

And the rest...

Greywind - Antidote [EP] (Version III) [Emo]
Lustmord - Much Unseen Is Also Here (Pelagic Records) [Dark Ambient]
The Dread Crew of Oddwood - Rust & Glory (Self-released) [Pirate Metal]

For all the latest news, reviews, interviews across the heavy metal spectrum follow THE RAZORS'S EDGE on facebook, twitter and instagram.