Release Round Up – April 19th 2024

Release Round Up

Release Round Up - April 19th, 2024

Every Friday there is a tidal wave of new music released unto the world. Whilst we try to cover as much as possible here at The Razor's Edge, it's not always possible to review everything. So each week on a Friday we'll round up some of the best new music available, some we've reviewed, some we haven't, but all worth checking out!

Theres a lot of new heavy music hitting the airwaves this week, everything from black metal, death metal, gothic metal, Stoner rock, doom, thrash metal and even some of your traditional heavy metal!

Here's what we think you should check out today!

High On Fire unleash their heavy metal thunder with their ninth album 'Cometh The Storm', released via MNRK Heavy.

"a relentless powerhouse kick to the face."

Read our full review here.

Chilean death metallers Uttertomb unleash 'Nebulas Of Self-Desecration' on Pulverised Records.

"It’s riffs, bass work and vocals all mesh together to create a punishing, seething atmosphere"

Read our full review here.

Melding death and thrash, Nuclear Tomb release 'Terror Labyrinthian' via Everlasting Spew Records.

"It’s a honestly fresh sound and it takes guts to write something this blatantly unusual."

Read our full review here.

Italian doom masters Haunted release 'Stare At Nothing' via Ripple Music.

"It’s dripping from start to finish in songs that are evocative, sinful and thought provoking."

Read our full review here.

New York's unique black metal outfit Folterkammer release 'Weibermacht' via Century Media Records.

"an utterly sensational record that has the balls to try something different."

Read our full review here.

Portugals greatest gothicdoom export Moonspell release a three disc collection of their early works 'Under The Moonspell'.

"Moonspell weren’t always only about broken hearts and lush, bombastic tunes. They have their dark side too."

Read our full review here.

Italian grinders Slug Gore release 'They Slime! They Ooze! They Kill!' via Time To Kill Records.

"a very entertaining and very fun slab of grindcore, full of really cool riffs and frantic mayhem."

Read our full review here.

Traditional heavy metal outfit Ravage release 'Spider on The World'.

"Ravage manage to capture that glorious sensibility of classic metal without smacking a crutch of nostalgia"

Read our full review here.

British gloom merchants My Dying Bride release 'A Mortal Binding' via Nuclear Blast.

"another stunning addition to a near faultless discography"

Read our full review here.

Melvins release latest album 'Tarantula Heart' via Ipecac Recordings.

"Everything you'd expect from a Melvins album"

Read our full review here.

Dool release crushing album 'The Shape Of Fluidity'

"the entire album is gorgeously written"

Read our full review here.

And thats just the tip of the iceberg! Other releases today we think you should check out include...


Cloud Nothings - Final Summer (Pure Noise Records)
Dool - The Shape of Fluidity (Prophesy Productions)
Ian Hunter - Defiance Part 2: Fiction (Sun Records)
Kickin Valentina - Star Spangled Fist Fight (Mighty Music)
Never Elected - Turbulent (Self-released)
Post Death Soundtrack - Veil Lifter (Self-released)
UFO - Covenant & Sharks (Cherry Red Records)
unpeople - unpeople (Sharptone Records)
Valley Lodge - Shadows In Paradise (Tee Pee Records)

Heavy Metal

Balance of Power - Fresh From The Abyss (Massacre Records)
Floodfall - Unbroken (WormholeDeath Records)
Moonspell - Under The Moonspell (The Early Years Collection) (Alma Mater Record)
Ravage - Spider on the World (Self-released)
Uragh - Maelstrom (Self-released)
Verikalpa - Tuomio (Scarlet Records)

Black Metal

Blaze of Perdition - Upharsin (Metal Blade Records)
Folterkammer - Weibermacht (Century Media)
Haust - Negative Music (Fysisk Format Records)
Kawir - Kydoimos (Soulseller Records)
Korpituli - Pohjola (Korpituli Productions)
Migistraal - Fantoom van de Deemsterburcht [EP] (Self-released)
Oscurom - Echoes (Self-released)
SRD - Vragvmesiton (On Parole Productions)

Death Metal / Death-Doom / Grindcore

Antagonyze - Interpretations of the Unknown Wilderness (Chaos Records)
Atrae Bilis - Aumicide (20 Buck Spin)
Engulfed - Unearthly Litanies of Despair (Me Saco Un Ojo/Dark Descent)
Fractal Gates - One With Dawn (Self-released)
Greybush - A never Ending Search For Justice (Self-released)
Impending Annihilation - Idiopathic Osteonecrosis of the Femoral Head [EP] (Gore House Productions)
- Wolves of the Black Star (Kvlt and Kaos Productions)
Mære - .​.​.​And The Universe Keeps Silent (Transcending Obscurity Records)
Opium Death - Genocidal Nemesis (Self-released)
Slug Gore - They Slime! They Ooze! They Kill! (Time To Kill Records)
Vrykolakas - Nocturnal Dominion of Death (Paragon Records)

Doom / Stoner Rock / Sludge / Psych

Blazing Eternity - A Certain Enf of Everything (Mighty Music)
Dead Harrison - None For All (Self-released)
Earthblood - Witchburner (Inverse Records)
Ivy Gardens - Goon (Self-released)
Ixion - Extinction [EP] (Finisterian Dead End)
Lie Heavy - Burn To The Moon (Heavy Psych Sounds)
Melvins - Tarantula Heart (Ipecac Records)
My Dying Bride - A Mortal Binding (Nuclear Blast)
Red Mesa - Partial Distortions (Desert Records)
Slowenya - The Wild Inevitable (Karhuvaltio Records)
Sundowner - Lysergic Ritual (Self-released)
Tomorrow's Rain - Ovdan (AOP Records)


Leach - New Model of Disbelief (Self-released)
The Ghost Inside - Searching For Solace (Epitaph Records)

Power Metal

Bloodbound - The Tales of Nosferatu - Two Decades of Blood (2004 - 2024) (AFM Records)
Dyscordia - The Road To Oblivion (Self-released)
Nocturna - Of Sorcery And Darkness (Scarlet Records)
Perseus - Into The Silence (Escape Music)

Prog Rock / Metal

Caeli Concept - Lunaison (WormholeDeath Records)
In Vain
- Solemn (Indie Recordings)
Loch Vostok - Opus Ferox II - Mark of the Beast (ViciSolum Productions)
Quantum - Down The Mountainside (Black Lodge)
Vanden Plas - The Empyrean Equation of the Long Lost Things (Frontiers Music)

Punk / Pop-Punk

Aerial Salad - R.O.I. (Self-released)
Belmont - Liminal (Pure Noise Records)
Letters Sent Home - Forever Undone (Sharptone Records)
Melonball - eup*nea (Thousand Island Records/Lockjaw Records)

Thrash Metal

Extinct - Incitement Of Violence (MDD Records)
Halberd - Drinks All Round [EP] (Self-released)

And the rest...

Big|Brave - A Chaos of Flowers (Thrill Jockey) [Post Rock]
Couch Slut - You Could Do It Tonight (Brutal Panda Records) [Noise]
Dayseeker - Replica (Spinefarm) [Post Hardcore]
Dperd - Choices (My Kingdom Music) [Dark Wave]
Dvne - Voidkind (Metal Blade Records) [Post-Metal]
Henrik Palm - Nerd Icon (Svart Records) [Post-Punk]
Homecoming - Those We Knew (Copper Feast Records) [Post-Metal]
Sons of Ra - Tropic of Cancer (Self-released) [Avantgarde/Prog/Jazz]
The Wraith - Ghost March (Seeing Red Records / LA Dark Records) [Deathrock/Post-punk]

For all the latest news, reviews, interviews across the heavy metal spectrum follow THE RAZORS'S EDGE on facebook, twitter and instagram.